Cigarette Litter

Friends who know me best know that one of my biggest pet-peeves is litter. I loathe people who trash our city and public places that should be kept clean. That includes people who flick their cigarette ashes and butts from car windows.

It pisses me off when someone’s cancer stick comes flying my way. Not only is it disrespectful to other people on the road, but it is another form of litter. It’s no different than tossing an empty McDonald’s cup on the street.

And, here’s what really gets me going. Cars are built with ashtrays, right? I know my cars have always had one. So, why is it cigarette smokers don’t use them? Maybe someone who smokes and drives can explain that to me. Just don’t tell me it’s easier, because that really means you’re just lazy, which is a common trait I find in people who litter. It’s really laziness.

Either way, I hate it. I think it’s rude and inconsiderate, and there should be stiff penalties for people who do it. I think smokers who toss their butts from cars should be fined, just as they would for littering.

Surprisingly, Nevada has a law prohibiting motorists from throwing lit cigarettes from a moving vehicle. But, who really enforces that law? When was the last time anyone got pulled over for throwing a cigarette from their car? I’m guessing rarely to never, especially in Las Vegas where there aren’t enough police to battle other crimes.

It’s not to say people in Nevada don’t care about litter, because they do. One organization, Don’t Trash Nevada, promotes ways residents can clean up the garbage people leave in our state’s national parks, streets and neighborhoods. And, it educates the community about what litter does to our environment.

According to Don’t Trash Nevada, cigarette butts last a long time and end up in storm drains, which eventually flush right into Lake Mead.

So, if you’re a smoker, stop and think about what you’re doing before throwing your cigarette into the road. You may think it’s harmless, but you’re harming our environment and you’re pissing me off. So, stop!