In the Blink of an Eye

Holy moly, it’s April! We’re a third of the way through the year. How is that possible? Grandfather time should slow his roll.

On the heels of Easter weekend with family in town and an outing with friends (the Adam Carolla show was hysterical), April is shaping up to be an exciting month. For one, our dear friends and favorite couple in the world will be coming to visit, followed by more family in town and a planned afternoon escape to a beer festival at Sunset Park. High five to that!

I’ve been totally absorbed in the book Life of Pi and trying to motivate myself to work out. Exercise is not my strong suit, but I need to do it. I’m slightly irritated at people who have the time to exercise tell me, “make time for yourself.” They don’t quite understand how hard it is to work the hours I do with babies at home. My time is limited. I know time, or lack thereof, is everyone’s excuse, but it’s true. I don’t even watch TV. I get one hour to myself at the end of the day, and by that time my brain is mush and I’m physically exhausted. I relax on the couch and do mindless iPhone surfing, like check Facebook, browse Pinterest, play Words with Friends and check out my friends’ wonderful pictures on Instagram. I refuse to work out at 9:00 at night, which leaves me one option: get up at 4:30 am and work out. Yuck, yuck and yuck.

So, there’s that.

Also this month, I’m planning Colton’s first birthday party. Despite the fact I am totally hurt he has decided to grow up without asking me how I feel about it, I am going to plan a much smaller celebration than I’m used to doing. Honestly, I’m just in no mood to plan something extravagant. Not to mention, his birthday falls on a difficult weekend. I have an event I don’t want to miss on the Saturday we’ll have his party and Mother’s Day is on Sunday. I’ll still shower my sweet boy with a party every one-year-old should have as a rite of passage, but it will be on a much smaller scale.

Hopefully this weekend or next I’ll buy a new road bike. I sold my mountain bike and we just haven’t had the chance to look at new ones, so I am without wheels for now. Kyle bought a bike trainer so maybe that will be my chance to get some exercise. Of course, he’s already been on it several times. I have to keep up with him. I can’t let him look better than me ;).

Oh yes! Almost forgot. The Paint the Town Red Gala last month was a success. Our committee worked really hard and well together, and 450 people attended the event. As wonderful as it was to be a part of it, I am happy it’s over to take a break from meetings and phone calls.

And, Kyle and I finally got to celebrate our anniversary with dinner. We chose Honey Salt, which replaced Nora’s, an Italian restaurant we used to enjoy. Honey Salt offers a relatively new and unique concept in Las Vegas with a farm to table dining experience. The food is exceptionally fresh and organic. It’s the kind of food we love. Try the tuna tartare for an appetizer and roasted cauliflower for an accompaniment. I also recommend the New York strip, which is grass-fed. Kyle had the chicken curry. We’ll definitely go back again.

April is a pretty month in the desert. Flowers are blooming and the weather is just right. After hanging with our besties and indulging at the beer fest, we’re going to need a juice detox!

Update: I began writing this blog last week and have since woken up early twice this week to work out. An old high school friend who has completely transformed her body after having 3 kids, told me to give myself 20 minutes in the morning using BodyRock.TV. I found a workout video that seemed suitable for a beginner like me, and it has kicked my butt! It’s seriously a 3 minute workout. That’s it. I do it three times with a minute break in between, so it takes me all of 11 minutes to complete my exercise. I stretch before and after too. I’ve set out my gear, yoga mat and iPad the night before so that it literally takes me 3 minutes to pop in my contacts, get dressed and get started. Twenty minutes indeed! Waking up at 4:45 sucks, yes, but it’s worth it. Let’s hope I keep it up.

Enjoy this past month in pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

