May-hem

May was crazy, just like every other month. But, it was oh, so fun!

First, I attended Junior League’s May Luncheon, which is always a fun and great way to end the league year. The same day was my special little guy’s first birthday party.

Instead of a big party, we opted for a small family get together with one of my closest friends and her baby girl… and had a “little man mustache” theme. I found everything I needed on Etsy, including biodegradable utensils, mustache stickers, a props party pack, t-shirts for the boys, plates and napkins, and adorable mustache straws. Keeping with tradition, Colton got a bundt cake. They really are the best cakes in town and so easy for a baby to dig into and get crazy. Nothing Bundt Cake is my go-to when I need a wonderful treat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Following Colton’s big day was my big day – Mother’s Day! My boys spoiled me with some gifts and then we spent the day at my sister’s pool with our moms. It was a great, relaxing day, which is just what I needed.

Next, we were off to Utah for our nephews’ Confirmation. Both Kyle and I were their sponsors, which meant a lot to us. It mostly rained while we were there, but Saturday turned out to be a perfect day for a BBQ. Then we made the long haul home. We are so lucky Kaden and Colton are such great travelers. They kept themselves entertained in the backseat.

We had the best 4-day weekend for the Memorial Day holiday. For once, we had no commitments. We spent time relaxing at home as a family, but since we got antsy after the first day, we took walks to the park, hiked at Mt. Charleston, camped in the backyard and swam at the pool. Even though it’s sometimes exhausting, we like to stay busy. It’s just no fun to be cooped up in the house.

Oh, and after a 3 week detour, we got back on the Paleo diet. I have a love-hate relationship with it. I like it because it makes me feel so good. I eat better, and I am more conscious of what goes into my body. But, I get bored with it. I need variety and I love changing up the menu. There’s not a ton I can do with Paleo. And, it’s so expensive. Our grocery bills nearly double eating this way because we need a lot more produce and meat and fish. I easily spend a couple hundred on just fish and meat at Whole Foods.Then we spend another hundred on produce only. And, have I mentioned that Colton eats like a beast? I am certain that by the time he is 3 we will be making twice-weekly grocery runs. He seriously eats more than Kaden and he likes everything. I mean, everything!

Anyway, that’s May in a nutshell. Boring to you. Life for us.

And, now it’s June. First up… my birthday! Never usually a big deal, but I feel like celebrating this year, and why not?

I looked up the definition of Gemini today, and this is what I found. Anybody disagree?

Gemini is the third sign of the zodiac, and those born under this sign will be quick to tell you all about it. That’s because they love to talk! It’s not just idle chatter with these folks, either. The driving force behind a Gemini’s conversation is their mind. The Gemini-born are intellectually inclined, forever probing people and places in search of information. The more information a Gemini collects, the better. Sharing that information later on with those they love is also a lot of fun, for Geminis are supremely interested in developing their relationships. Dalliances with these folks are always enjoyable, since Geminis are bright, quick-witted and the proverbial life of the party. Even though their intellectual minds can rationalize forever and a day, Geminis also have a surplus of imagination waiting to be tapped. Can a Gemini be boring? Never! 

Since Geminis are a mix of the yin and the yang, they are represented perfectly by the Twins. The Gemini-born can easily see both sides of an issue, a wonderfully practical quality. Less practical is the fact that you’re not sure which Twin will show up half the time. Geminis may not know who’s showing up either, which can prompt others to consider them fickle and restless. 

They can be wishy-washy, too, changing their mood on a simple whim. It’s this characteristic which readily suggests the Mutable Quality assigned to this sign. Mutable folks are flexible and go with the flow. Further, the Twins are adaptable and dexterous and can tackle many things at once. It’s a good thing, too, when you consider their myriad interests. The downside of such a curious mind, however, can be a lack of follow-through. How much can any one person do, anyway? 

